For The Met Hotel exclusive offers only.
The Met Hotel will not share your information
with any other party.

New Westminster Hotel Testimonials | The Met Hotel


Charming clean well worth taking the sky train to new Westminster

May 22, 2014

Big comfy beds. Delightfully surprised at the decor. Large room. Super clean and great hot water to soak ones tired body after touring around Vancouver. The staff Chris and shauwn were accommodating. Would definitely return as the room rates are affordable and well worth leaving to head to new Westminster for. Train stops at hotel. Restaurant in hotel. Subway and pharmacy close by. This was a great choice in hotels. Spoke with our friends next day who stayed in Vancouver and they Paid mega bucks for their accommodation and were sadly disappointed.
Sheree W

Excellent experience

May 7, 2013

We needed to stay close to the hospital and found the Met on line. Our stay exceeded our expectations both in quality and value. The rooms were excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. A delightful experience. We will be back.
Salmon Arm, Canada Traveler

A new “home away from home”

April 3, 2013

The place we used for years on family visits to Metro Van became unavailable. Our daughter suggested The Met. We loved it. Beautiful rooms, friendly helpful staff, a view of the river, a perfect location next to Columbia Sky Train station, and affordable rates. This will be our new “Home away from home.”
Nakusp, Canada Traveler

Quaint little heritage gem

November 2, 2012

The Met is a Quaint little Heritage Gem in the heart of New Westminster. Great Location! Wedding Street, River Market, neighbour pubs with live music, excellent restaurants.....Nice Surprise as we originally intended it as a reasonable hotel to stay at near the sky train for quick access for a quick trip into Vancouver. We had trouble leaving New West and ended up only going into Vancouver for the football game. There is, surprisingly, so much to see in New Westminster that we'll just have to go back again! The Staff and Management are FIVE STAR!
Kamloops, BC Traveler

Wonderful Boutique Hotel

November 16, 2012

The Met Hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel located right next door to the Skytrain which will take you anywhere you want in the lower mainland. Rooms are very clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay and recommend it freely.
Oceanside, San Diego, CA Traveler

Can't Wait To Stay Again

Jul 14, 2009

This hotel was wonderful. It's in a great part of New Westminster-it almost has a downtown New Orleans feel to it. We felt safe knowing there was a police detachment just a few blocks away and there was cheap secured parking. This hotel accepted my dogs-which were two Siberian Huskies-I was impressed with the accommodations (as most hotels with pets, put people into Smoking Rooms, but The Met Hotel has No Smoking anywhere!!) The staff were cheerful and happy to do any extra requests that I needed because I was there for medical reasons. They exceeded my expectations and I recommend this hotel to anyone travelling along the coast or in New Westminster.
Kamloops Traveler

In the heart of the action

Mar 18, 2009

I was staying in the area for 3 days and tried another higher rated hotel first, but on the second day tried this one because it was about 25% less money. I actually liked this one better and stayed here for the third night as well. The first night I got a 4th floor room (top floor) overlooking the main street and the big river that runs by the town (Fraser Rv.) and enjoyed the view and such. The hotel room was clean with 10 foot ceilings from the original building design, which is somewheres around 1890s. It is in the heart of this city's action district so the subway stops there as well as buses. There is really only one main street in this area and it stretches for about 10 blocks and that's it and this hotel is on it which might make for a tough night's sleep for those who can not handle a little traffic noise and electric subway sounds. Which brings me to a helpfull hint, get a room facing the main street, not one at the back of the hotel facing the subway. It's an above ground type subway when it arrives at this station just behind the Met hotel and the train comes and goes every 5 minutes untill 1:00AM or 2:00AM, not sure exactly when it stopped running but it did keep me awake the second night because my second night room was in the back of the hotel. There is also free parking near the front area of the hotel on the street... as long as it's after 6:00pm and you are able to get up by 8:00am to move out or start paying for the meter.
Whitehorse Traveler

Just a Great Inexpensive Hotel

Aug 21, 2008

I recently stayed for 6 nights at The Met, August 9-14, so I believe I can give a comprehensive review. To find a really good budget hotel at the height of tourist season in the Vancouver area is tricky. This is the best value for your dollar.

This is an old heritage building, the oldest in New Westminster. You can tell that it's in the process of being repainted and cosmetically restored. It has a great deal of charm -- the rooms have very high ceilings, and the thick walls prevent you from hearing your neighbours. For the length of my stay, the housekeeping service was impeccable. The room and especially bathroom was always antiseptically clean. I had no problem with water pressure. In fact, the water pressure in the shower was better than I have at home.

The bed was unusually comfortable and the fluffy pillows seemed brand new. The room was spacious, with lots of storage.

Breakfast every morning on the second floor featured coffee, muffins and local newspapers in a comfortable sitting room, between 8:00 and 11:00 a.m.

Having the Columbia Skytrain station right next to the hotel was a huge bonus. It takes 25 minutes on the train to reach the Granville station in the heart of downtown Vancouver. At the entrance to the station is a convenience store which is open during Skytrain hours, about 6:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m., very handy if you want coffee before the 8:00 a.m. hotel offering.

As a single woman travelling alone, I felt very secure knowing that late at night when the front desk wasn't staffed, you need a combination security code to get into the building. I didn't find the neighbourhood to be alarming or unsafe; rather, it's charming and quirky, a block north of a large selection of antiques stores. On the other side of the street and west one block is a 2-storey secondhand bookstore called Booktown, very worth checking out.

The Met's Grill next door has very good food, and a lovely hidden high-walled garden patio out back. I believe they open at 11 a.m. If you show them your room key, you get a discount on your meal. From the patio, you can barely hear the Skytrain behind, so I doubt that you can hear it much at all from a north-facing room.

The Heritage Grill on the corner (a few doors west of the hotel) is also great, with wireless Internet access and excellent food. Try the breakfast; they open at 8:30.

The hotel owners and staff were unfailingly helpful. I unexpectedly had to send and receive several faxes while I was there, and the owner took care of that for me. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a charming, clean, low-budget room in the Vancouver area. I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in town.
Penticton-Traveller, Penticton

Cute Hotel, Vaulted Ceilings, Neat View

Jul 30, 2008

This hotel is one of the cheaper in the vancouver area, without having resorting to a motel 6 or something seedy. The staff was a husband and wife team who were more than willing to give advice on the city and ensure that our short stay was comfortable. There are not a lot of amenities in this hotel, but we found that they were not needed, Vancouver has enough to offer that we weren't sitting around the hotel waiting for things to happen. The neatest part was the vaulted ceilings and the view of the waterfront...which was a real working waterway, with all sorts of interesting things to watch. It's in a relatively quiet neighborhood with a kitschy shopping center nearby. Definitely stay at this hotel again.
scienceout, Seattle

Better Than Your Average Boutique Hotel

Feb 29, 2008

Some of these reviews might leave you with the impression that boutique = old = dumpy. Couldn't be further from the truth! I've stayed at this hotel several times, just for proximity to the Sky Train (< 2 min walking). I've never had breakfast there so can't comment on that, but it has always been extremely clean and the staff has been very polite and accomodating. For the price, you really can't do better than this. If you're looking for a nice, inexpensive, safe place to stay you just found it. Takes maybe 20 minutes to get downtown on the SkyTrain. There's a great restaurant on the corner a block or so away. Unfortunately I can't remember what it's called, but if you come out of the hotel and turn right you will arrive in a block or two. They often have live music and the food is fantastic with lots of healthy items on the menu.
CanuckGal84, Vancouver, Canada

Great Location

Jul 21, 2007

Booked online, and was quite satisfied.

Rooms were fairly large, although the afternoon sun beating into the room was making the small A/C unit work overtime.

Great location, easy access to all of the Greater Vancouver area. Lots of Antique shops nearby, and a nice local pub on the main floor serving your typical pub fare.

Good experience all around, Kelly at the check in desk is very pleasant.
BorderCityBoy, Windsor, Canada

Wonderful Accomodation!!!

Mar 8, 2007

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for one night, while I was attending a course at a nearby college. We found the owner and fellow staff to be very polite and friendly, and accomodated us without problem, as we had arrived early in the day. The hotel is very charming, with sitting areas in the middle of the building - the 4th floor has a fabulous skylight above it. The rooms were clean and cozy, and we were immediately impressed when we opened the door to our room. Also, we had wireless internet, which was perfect!!! I believe this hotel is an excellent place to stay, and for low cost :)
Julie78Kamloops, Kamloops
All the above reviews are collected from
Each review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.